Warning notification:Warning

Unfortunately, you are using an outdated browser. Please, upgrade your browser to improve your experience with HSE. The list of supported browsers:

  1. Chrome
  2. Edge
  3. FireFox
  4. Opera
  5. Safari

Health Service Excellence Awards 2023

Health Service Excellence Award Winners 2022

Closing date for entries was midnight on Thursday 3 August 2023

Applications are now closed.

All applications will now go through a shortlisting process. Shortlisted applicants will be notified by late September 2023.

All shortlisted applicants will then be asked to present their project to a judging panel to explain further the merits of their project to the judging panel. Winning projects will be determined based on the application and the presentation of the project.

The awards

The Health Service Excellence Awards is an opportunity to showcase and celebrate examples of the great work that happens every day across our health service. The awards also promote shared learning for other teams through our awards success stories.

We are looking for projects that make a real and lasting difference to our health and social services.

Your project could be:

  • improving access for patients
  • delivering higher quality of care to patients
  • promoting pride among staff about our services

The awards are open to all staff (HSE and non-HSE) working in the public health system, and any service provided directly to the public including:

  • clinical services
  • primary care
  • social or family support
  • support services:
    • catering
    • portering
    • maintenance
    • security
    • clerical management services (people management, information technology or service management initiatives)

Projects will need to demonstrate the HSE’s core values of care, compassion, trust and learning.

Watch highlights from the 2022 Health Service Excellence Awards event - YouTube

Read about the entries and category winners in the 2022 Health Service Excellence Awards e-booklet (PDF, 4 MB, 35 pages)

2023 award categories

There are 5 award categories.

Complete an application form for each category you wish to enter.

Projects can be entered in a maximum of 2 categories. There will be 1 award winner in each category.

Improving patient experience

This category is for projects that show how service improvements enhanced patient experience.

Your entry should identify the transferability of this improvement. Specify other benefits that your improvement may have had, including better use of:

  • resources
  • staff
  • costs
  • communications
  • access to information
  • cooperation between services

Innovation in service delivery

This category is for projects implementing a solution to make things better. Projects should show efficiency, sustainability and value for money.

Show how your project uses innovative thinking to improve the service in your area for patients, service users, clients and staff, demonstrating an integrated approach.

Your project should also demonstrate how innovative practices were applied to help teams deliver enhanced services. You will need to show a new concept or process, and identify the results.

Excellence in quality and patient safety

This category is for projects that makes things better, and improves care quality and safety for patients, service users and clients.

Show how your project focuses on patients, service users and clients. The project should demonstrate stakeholder engagement and involvement in the design, development and evaluation of the project. Include how the project could be transferable to other healthcare settings.

Your entry should identify quality and patient safety priorities. It should show how the project delivered measurable improvements and more targeted services.

Using a digital solution to provide a better service

This category is for projects that use a digital solution to improve a process in your area.

Your project should identify how introducing a digital solution provides a more efficient and effective result. Describe the benefits of introducing this project.

You should detail the collaborative aspects of your project. Describe how your project enables team working, knowledge-sharing, problem-solving and decision-making. Describe how this improved:

  • service provision
  • integration
  • service planning
  • operational effectiveness

Right Care Right Place Right Time - Sláintecare integration

This category is for projects that contribute to delivering Sláintecare goals.

Show how your project demonstrates resilience and innovation in the Irish Health Service.

Describe how your project delivers person-centred care and integration in the following 3 areas:

  • care pathways and national plans and strategies
  • enhanced community care
  • Sláintecare healthy community programmes, social inclusion, social prescribing and mental health


Criteria for how projects will be selected.

Key Dates

Closing date for entries - midnight on Thursday 3 August 2023.

Shortlisted applicants will be notified in October 2023.

Excellence Awards Event will be held in November 2023.

Award winners 2022

Health Service Excellence Award Winners 2022


If you are having any problems submitting your application, please get in touch with us at healthserviceexcellenceawards@hse.ie