Skip to main content

National Clinical Leadership Centre for Nursing and Midwifery (ONMSD)

The National Clinical Leadership Centre for Nursing and Midwifery (NCLC) supports the clinical leadership development for all grades of nurses and midwives nationally.

Our vision is to inspire innovative leadership through our clinical leadership competency framework, clinical leadership programmes, initiatives and workshops.

Our 2021 End of Year report provides an insight into the work of the NCLC during another very challenging year It is also reflective of the dedication and commitment of the NCLC team and those who support our commitment to clinical leadership development.

Related topic

NCLC End of Year Report 2021 (PDF size 1.6 MB)

Role of the Director of the NCLC for nursing and midwifery (ONMSD)

The NCLC Director guides and supports the NCLC team to provide clinical leadership opportunities for nurses and midwives through the NCLC

  • Clinical Leadership Competency Framework
  • Clinical Leadership Programmes
  • Clinical Leadership Workshops
  • Clinical Leadership Development Initiatives


Marie Kilduff - NCLC Director

Phone: 087 656 8104

Education and training

National Clinical Leadership Centre programmes and initiatives

The National Clinical Leadership centre facilitate programmes and initiatives to support the clinical leadership of individuals and the organisation in which they work. Examples of programmes include:

  • An Introduction to Clinical Leadership
  • Empowering Self and Others
  • The Peta Taaffe Clinical Leadership Programme
  • Future Nurse and Midwife Leaders Development Programme
  • Executive Leaders Programme for Directors of Nursing, Directors of Midwifery grades or equivalent up to and including Chief Directors of Nursing and Midwifery grades


The National Clinical Leadership Centre for Nursing and Midwifery are currently delivering the internationally recognised ICARE (Innovation, Compassion, Attitude, Resilience and Engagement) one day leadership programme.

This programme was developed by Healthcare 360, UK in 2018 and adapted for delivery to nurses and midwives in the UK, Australia and New Zealand during the pandemic. The NCLC will deliver this programme to nurses and midwives of all grades ADoN and ADoM grades or equivalent over the coming months.

Please see the attached flyer for further information on the programme and for registration details.

Related topic

ICARE Registration Flyer Q4 2022 (PDF size 517.6 KB)

Due to the impact of Covid-19, the NCLC have adapted all of our programmes for virtual delivery and to meet the changing leadership needs of nurses and midwives in light of the pandemic. Programmes include:

  • Clinical Leadership Development Programme for Staff Nurses and Staff Midwives 2 Day Virtual Programme NCLC Clinical Leadership Development Programme for Clinical Nurse and Midwife Managers 1 & 2 and equivalent grades
  • Peta Taaffe 2.5 Day Virtual Programme for CNM1/ CMM1 and CNM2/CMM2 Grades
  • Future Leaders Programme Virtual Programme for CNM/CMM3 Grades/ ClSp grades, Advanced Nurse Practitioners and ADON Grades
  • Executive Leaders Programme Virtual Programme for Area DON/DOM and DON/DOM Grades
  • The ICARE Clinical Leadership Programme for all Nursing and Midwifery grades

Upcoming Programmes

Nursing and Midwifery Clinical Leadership during Covid-19, Sharing the Learning Webinar Series

In collaborating with colleagues from services during the first wave of Covid-19 in 2020, it was evident that there was significant clinical leadership demonstrated by nurses and midwives, nationally. As the pandemic escalated, it became clear that nurses and midwives should be provided with an opportunity to present their clinical leadership experiences. This would not only enable them to present the significant leadership skills and knowledge demonstrated during this challenging time but would also facilitate shared learning across disciplines and services.

The NCLC in collaboration with the Chief Nursing Office (CNO) and RCSI are delighted to present our webinar series Nursing and Midwifery Clinical Leadership during Covid-19, Sharing the Learning. The series includes representation from the CNO office, ONMSD, midwifery and all disciplines of nursing and all grades of nurses and midwives. It has been a pleasure to work with the colleagues from the CNO and the RCSI on this initiative and it has been an honour to collaborate with all of the panellists who were so committed and dedicated to supporting us with each webinar.

Please note that each webinar was circulated from September 2020 to April 2021 using e mail, social media and the NCLC, CNO and RCSI websites. Webinars can be accessed by clicking on the links below:

Webinar 1 - Learning from our Senior Leaders

Webinar 2 - Learning from Older Person Services

Webinar 3 - Learning from Midwifery Services

Webinar 4 - Learning from Public Health Services

Webinar 5 - Learning from Acute Services

Webinar 6 - Learning from Mental Health Services

Webinar 7-Learning from Intellectual Disability Services

Webinar 8 -Learning from Children’s Nursing Services

Webinar 9 -Learning Past, Present and Future

Webinar 10 - Learning from Florence Nightingale Scholars

National Clinical Leadership Centre - HSELanD

The Nursing and Midwifery Hub has a leadership section with information relating to clinical leadership competencies and leadership initiatives.


For information relating to programmes offered by NCLC contact:

Niamh Mann - National Clinical Leadership Centre Administrator

Phone: 061 483 301